Simple Things to (Further) Go Green(er)

There was a dishwasher, a stacked washer/dryer and a fridge that came with the house when I bought it in 2005. The washer and dryer have been replaced with more efficient models. The dishwasher has now stopped working in the last three weeks or so. It hasn’t been a huge deal. I have always kind of enjoyed hand-washing the dishes. My grandma chose to not have a dishwasher when my grandpa built her house for her in Farmville, VA. After supper, someone washes and someone dries.

Be that as it may…


This weekend I’ll begin my search for an energy star model replacement. Some of the newest models are so good, in fact, that if you skip pre-washing altogether (Yes, Please!) that it’s really on the water conservation aspect that they’re far and away better than models that were on the market just a year or so ago.

My fridge, then, is the only of the remaining appliances. While it works it’s by no means the efficiency whiz that I wish that it were. If this is true for you as well and it’s going to be a while before you can replace yours (I want a new one by Christmas) then clean the coils. That’s right; I’ll be unplugging my baby and getting down and dirty with the Murphy’s Oil Soap. Then I’ll be re-sealing the doors.

I use blackle for my home page. This is a very simple way to perhaps save some some energy; you can read about it here if you would like.

I haven’t always been vigilant about my air filters but I’m better now. I now have email reminders set up so that they are now changed every three months at the same time as my oil filter in the car.

One thing I am pretty vigilant about is not using disposable cups. The use of styrofoam in particular really gets to me, but it does happen. I don’t throw them away when I do somehow get them. I clean them and then break them into little pieces, like packing peanuts and put them into the bottom of my plant pots. Underneath the soil, they help with drainage.
This works if you have one of those take-out containers that’s made out of the really thin styrofoam, but you’ll be tearing for a while.
Do yourself a favor and go put two or three Tupperware containers in your car right now for the next time you need a to-go container.

If you do anything novel, I’d love to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

