Turn it Around (proposition 8)

I don’t know about you, but if you are a fellow follower (of God, or even the news), perhaps your heart has been breaking over and over again these past few days.

The resentment between those who had a had a dog in the fight about Proposition 8 – for either side – makes my heart ache.

Further rifts between our Baptist entities here in NC, proving the saying that “where there are two Baptists there are three opinions” right, is heartbreaking.
Add to these things the sudden and seemingly capricious fatalities of a 60-year-old and a 10-year-old in the eastern part of the state due to a sudden tornado and you’re left both with a mild pang of sorrow and also with a certainty of sovereignty. Sometimes it’s hard to balance the two at the same time.

It’s said of the great theologian Karl Barth that upon his death bed he was asked that after all that he had learned and experienced of God throughout his life, what could sum it up best, to which he responded:

Jesus loves me, This I know
For the Bible tells me so
Little ones to Him belong
They are weak but He is strong

As I was thinking about Barth’s own reflection about God and what a piss-poor job we Christians are doing lately of reflecting God to the world, it dawned on me that “Jesus Loves Me” shouldn’t be about “Me” at all. We’ve got to stop being the self-serve types at some point, and stop patting our own backs. Whether someone’s gay or not, whether or not they live by the same set of rules that I do or not, even if they’re Southern Baptist, I think internally I should perhaps sing to myself

Jesus loves them
This I know
For the Bible tells me so
Everyone to Him belongs
It just may be that I am wrong

Something to think on.

Leave a Reply

