belated presidential ponderings

Last week was a great, albeit very long week. I had been thinking a lot about Whitman and the American Romantics. I worked my way through some of his poems and on Tuesday as I watched the inauguration, I couldn’t help but think that for the first time in a long time I too heard America singing. The snow that fell upon us in Raleigh and the rest of the Piedmont here in North Carolina blanketed everything in pristine white, giving this sense of a blank slate; a fresh start.
While I don’t want hang more responsibility on the president than one man should handle (this is not HIS country; it is OURS) I am as hopeful as the rest of you, singing along.

Leave a Reply

