review: Tony Campolo’s “Speaking My Mind”

The Radical Evangelical Prophet Tackles the Tough Issues Christians Are Afraid to Face Speaking My Mind: The Radical Evangelical Prophet Tackles the Tough Issues Christians Are Afraid to Face by Tony Campolo


My review

rating: 4 of 5 stars
I found this book highly relevant, and though I read it quickly (because I could not put it down; not because the material was not weighty) I will be rereading it more thoroughly and with more care. I read it in the span of a day and a half. I originally checked it out of my library solely for two of the chapters, “Are Evangelicals Handling the Gay Issue All Wrong?” and “Is Evangelicalism Sexist?” For anyone not familiar with Campolo, I do not suggest you dive into his work immediately, but begin at the beginning so as to not take him out of context. I am not a critic of his, but an ally, but even so were I to want to cite him would make certain to begin at the beginning and read at least this work in its entirety once more with moderate pacing to make sure I followed him as he meant to present his case.

I thought his arguments (I hate to even call them that, but lack a better word here) reasonable, well-presented and even-handed. He speaks a clarion call about America in the eyes of the world in the chapter “Do We Understand Why So Many People Throughout The World Hate America?” that people of all faiths and philosophies, certainly not only Evangelicals, and not even Christians would do well to consider. However, the most appealing thing to me is that it is not a hopeless message that one is left with, but there is thoughtful consideration to what has been done right; what good continues to be done, and what should continue to be done, with Campolo not speaking in generalities but citing specific and reachable examples.

I would highly recommend this book, especially to someone that feels at a loss for what to do; that feels that we now have a chance for hope but knows not what to do with that hope with the inauguration of it.

Leave a Reply

