I’ve been enjoying spending time with my nose in a book rather than my face staring at a screen while given a choice this past month and half or so. I don’t have a choice when classes are in session, so any writing I’m getting done is actually the low-tech kind; I’ve got page after page of my handwritten script that would be of no interest to anyone but me.

All of my musings haven’t been entirely introspective. The actions and motives of North Korea are nothing short of terrifying. The so-called “election” in Iran and their struggle for democracy is much the same. We up the ante exponentially insofar as ammunition is concerned, but humanity is on a treadmill as far as any real progress is concerned, it seems, in so many situations. As one soldier uttered in the late 1890s,

The world has achieved brilliance without wisdom, power without conscience. Our is a world of nuclear giants and ethical infants.
Omar N. Bradley

Leave a Reply

