Book Review: Everything I Need to Know about Being A Girl I Learned from Judy Blume

Everything I Needed to Know about Being a Girl I Learned from Judy Blume Everything I Needed to Know about Being a Girl I Learned from Judy Blume by Jennifer O’Connell

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
In films, they typically show people doing one of two things when in the home of someone for the first time, be they a potential friend or foe:
1)snooping in their medicine cabinets or
2)scanning the titles on their bookshelves.

While I’ve never done the first I do the second regularly. If a potential friend still has some of the best young adult fiction alongside the most dense non-fiction titles proudly and to balance them out, then it’s a pretty safe bet we are going to be good friends. The Velveteen Rabbit? Charlotte’s Web? All good signs. However, if I am at the house of a recently-made girlfriend and if I spy upon her shelves a Judy Blume book, or better yet should I zero in on a copy of Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret that looks as battle-weary from the wars of life laid away in books as my own copy now is, then I have a very strong and particular sense wash over me that this is most likely the start of a beautiful friendship indeed. That is the sense of fictive kinship you get reading some of the better essays in this anthology – the shared, hysterical and hard-fought highs and lows that we all went through and keep hidden most of the time but should perhaps consider laying bare to one another more often.

View all my reviews >>

Leave a Reply

