That’s Preposterous

There is a quite famous movie that closes with an adult son saying to his father, “Love means never having to say you’re sorry.”

As a bit of a cinephile I find this among the most problematic movie endings in my opinion. I cannot bear that such a wonderful movie about love is somewhat soiled by the final minute and a half because of an absurd statement about about love.

On the surface there are two ways to take this statement. Both are wrong. Love, I think, from everything I can learned, lost and lived has led me to precisely the opposite conclusion: love means being sensitive to when you are in the wrong and being emotionally healthy and responsible enough to say so.

2 thoughts on “That’s Preposterous

  1. is this the first time you have watched “Love Story”? I remember that bothering me when I saw the movie eons ago …….

Leave a Reply

