Coffee is Magic

No doubt having been influenced by a recent hearing of ‘Jack and the Beanstalk’, one of my little under-5 friends recently asked me if there really is such a thing as magic beans.
I thought for a second and told him that, yes, in fact there IS but that these beans have no magical effects on children, only grown-ups, who sometimes make a drink from them.
“How are they magic?” he asked me, to which I replied, “Sometimes this bean drink makes very grumpy grown-ups nicer.”
His eyes shone up at me as he said with no small amount of wonder, “Wow, that is magic.”
Indeed it is.

Leave a Reply

