As it is with sorrow so it is with joy

As I was brushing my teeth a longtime favorite song by Belle and Sebastian came on. I came into my bedroom, toothbrush hanging out of my mouth and signaled to Maddie that I wanted her to “dance” by patting myself on the shoulders while maintaining eye contact with her. That is not the noteworthy part of this antecdote – she and I “dance” at least three times a day around here.
What is worth mention is that I have been shedding the last bits of my unhappiness like scales and I caught myself in a moment of pure bliss. Several times in my life I have realized that without being fully aware of it depression has crept up, catching me unaware. It seems that joy can catch you by surprise as well, and that it has.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

