Go Shoot Up Your City

Did you know that August 19 marks the 20th anniversary of World Photography Day? What a wonderful reason to go out and behave like a tourist in your own city all weekend, seeing the new in what has become familiar and taking photos. This is one of my very favorite things to do here in the Raleigh/Durham/Chapel Hill area, the place where I was born and have lived for 30 lovely, wonder-filled years.
Go and do likewise! You don’t have to have an intimidating, fancy-schmancy camera. I don’t, as an intentional move on my part. Of my seven cameras my most sophisticated digital was $750 a few years ago and it is not my weapon of choice. I don’t like my camera to do the work for me. My palm-sized Olympus, which can be purchased for about $115 and which is always on me, takes great pictures. If you’re new to photography I highly recommend a camera like that one to start with and as for when to start – as they say, there’s no time like the present. Take some risks; take some adventurous shots. I’ll show you mine if you show me yours.

Leave a Reply

