Days of Gratitude: Day 5: Maddie

Today I am grateful for a somewhat impulsive decision I made seven and a half years ago that turned out to be one of the very best decisions I ever made — I adopted Maddie and she, in return adopted me. In those seven years + I have found that I am both more capable of love and more deserving of love than I had previously thought. In fact, Maddie has taught me to raise my standards in the humans I allow to be around (the two of) us for one of the things that Maddie exemplifies is the loyalty that most dogs possess but sometimes humans do not, as illustrated in this quote by Euripides:
“He is not a lover who does not love forever.”

Maddie loved me from the very first time we met, and I her. Was I in for more than I imagined when I signed up for this dog thing? Absolutely. Is it more work than I sometimes want, when I need to go out of town for a conference or have to plan my schedule and I go to school over an hour away and don’t know how she is going to get walked? Yes. But that’s love and love has made me better. I am so grateful for her unconditional love and her always-wagging tail to greet me.

Leave a Reply

