You DO Go Back

It’s true that I don’t read any fashion magazines but I am not immune to knowing the trends of upcoming seasons. When last fall I heard that the Pantone color for spring 2012 was a delightful and vibrant shade of orange I was delighted – orange has long been my favorite color and has long been overlooked. It is easy to find it everywhere now in department stores both in apparel and also in home goods but just 5 years ago that was not the case. My kitchen, a work in progress finally nearing completion is cream and black with retro orange as the major accent color and a very cool yellow as the minor. While this afternoon I could go to Nordstrom’s and find salad plates, a toaster and even a microwave in orange five years ago I only found my solid orange linens at Halloween.

Oranges and pinks are everywhere in apparel, lacy dresses and floral frocks are topping the top ten must have lists for spring. I don’t buy new clothes but funnily enough, I don’t need to. Everything I need is in my well-stocked closet yet they go unworn. Again and again I go for the blacks and the grays, the tans and the creams.

It happened for me in college. I didn’t want to look thinner, though I was wrestling with an eating disorder. That wasn’t the reason I began to turn to all things black and bland. It wasn’t that I had some innate desire to blend in or go unseen, either, though that is the motivation behind many women who wear mainly neutrals. For me it was that I had such a young face and a nonchalant way about me I was more often than not someone who wasn’t taken as seriously as I deserved to be a good deal of the time. I figured dressing more seriously and less, well, Sarah, could only help. Whether the two truly had anything to do with one another or to what extent I’ll never know. I know that I became deadly serious, less myself, but was taken more seriously. I was considered a force to contend with in my classes but I always had been. By the time I graduated I was known by my professors and other students as a serious and prepared student. They were half-right.

In dressing a part am I playing a part? I’m not really a serious person. I get deadly serious about certain issues but I’m a girl who judges a skirt as good or bad by how well it twirls when I spin around. I think it’s past time I box up at least half of these 34 black dresses which have become my security blanket and lighten up.

2 thoughts on “You DO Go Back

  1. I was actually hoping you would take me to the Tandy Leather store you went to before Christmas. They make a leather edging tool and a leather lacer that I want to see – I think I want to get them but I think seeing them before buying them is a good idea.

Leave a Reply

