90+ Semester Hours in that Black Folder

Today I tentatively handed in a black three-prong folder with approximately 60 printed pages of my work from the last five years. Among these pages there was a sermon, an exegesis, an in-depth analysis on one theologian’s take on the Trinity and the paper that was the final product of my independent research study on fasting throughout history and in our contemporary setting. In selecting the works for my portfolio I had to survey the work I have produced during the 90 hours at Campbell (after searching multiple hard drives to find it all, honestly) and there was quite a lot there. Sometimes in this field it feels like what we’re doing is hard to quantify or articulate but in doing this I had proof that I have, after all, been doing something these past years. It is sometimes good to be reminded of this as the work that we do is not about bearing fruit so much as forbearance.

Leave a Reply

