“Real” Work

valandsarah

My friend Val is going through a bit of a rough patch. She had asked that if I found myself in Durham this weekend that I give her a call. This afternoon I found myself in her neighborhood and so we managed to sit at one of my favorite coffee shops  sitting, laughing, talking, and having a good time like friends do.

As we were getting ready to leave she thanked me for making time for her, with a bit of surprise in her voice. As I probed at this a bit she said that she thought initially I would only have a few minutes for her before getting down to my “real” work. Fortunately, spending time with Val IS my real work. With Val one can hardly call it work.

Leave a Reply

