Oh, Knit!

In the past two years I have not spent nearly enough time in my craft room.

You read that right – there is an entire room in my house (hypothetically) devoted to my artistic pursuits. In there I am fortunate enough to have a sewing machine (a Singer given to me when I finished undergrad), an armoire full of fabrics, buttons, lace and findings, paints, stamps, and my jewelry-making supplies. The only thing I have lacked is motivation.

When my grandma died I selected for myself a few of her things. I wanted some of her knitting and crochet needles. When I think of her it is with a set of these in her hands. To hold them is to hold her hand by proxy.

Last week I signed up for an Intro to Knitting course – for myself, for my grandma, and especially for the parts of my grandmother that live on in me.

Leave a Reply

