Hondas and Hafiz

Yesterday I bought a new car. It was time-consuming and stressful but very needed. My 2005 Malibu has nearly 160k miles on it and has been driven nearly to death. Though it has been reliable this reliability is finite.

For nine years now I have looked only for my white Malibu on the street, in parking decks and in lots. It will be several days until I stop walking by my Honda, as beautiful as it is. I keep looking for the old thing, though it no longer serves me well.

 

I think that says a whole lot, don’t you?

 

This reminds me of a poem I love by Hafiz, which I will leave you with:

 

Stop Being So Religious
by Hafiz

What

Do sad people have in

Common?

It seems

They have all built a shrine

To the past

And often go there

And do a strange wail and

Worship.

What is the beginning of

Happiness?

It is to stop being

So religious

Like That.

Leave a Reply

