On the Road Again: the Introvert Travels for Work

This summer I have been to Minneapolis and to Hot Springs, NC. I haven’t finished unpacking my suitcase from last weekend’s trip to Hot Springs and I am already re-packing it to go back to MN for a conference.

In August I will be going to SC for another week away.

 

I both like and dislike being away. I love the novelty of new places. I like being an explorer. I like seeing and learning new things.

But, being an introvert as I am traveling for a conference or gathering of some sort I am usually absolutely overwhelmed by day 3. I have said all that I have to say and given all of myself that there is to share. At this point in the week/event I need to take a break and a long nap. It is at this point that I most want to come home and be in my own house, with my dog. I don’t want to go to a craft brewery; I want to go to *my* craft brewery — the one within walking distance of my house. I don’t want to ride bikes; I want to ride *my* bike — the pink one with the bell and basket. Thankfully, I usually feel a bit less cantankerous after room service and a delightfully terrible made-for-TV movie.

It has taken me a long time to know all of this about my nature and needs and therefore be a better traveler as well as a better person when I am at home. I get this way here, too, and need the exact same thing.

It took me a long time to learn that it’s OK to say, “no” to some things or “not today,” even when you want to go. Especially when you want to go. And as important as not going, that you shouldn’t beat yourself up about it. That bit took the longest to learn.

I’ll spend the next few days packing for Minneapolis, excited to be going back to this beautiful city and ready to meet some new people. I’ll also know that I won’t be able to do every single event that is an available option, and that’s OK. It’s part of who I am, and who I am is great.

 

Some pictures from this summer’s travels so far:

(click on any picture to see a slightly larger version)

Minneapolis:

MN

stainedglassceiling

1234015_10152431282703139_6610873726611807486_n

 

Hot Springs, NC:

flower

10492252_10152525801223139_5157922042611985046_n

10489780_10152529792413139_6318946074497050834_n

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

