Perchance to Dream

I love sleep. I am one of those individuals that requires between 7.5 and 9 hours of sleep each night to function well. It is typical for me to take a 30 minute to hour-long nap daily even when I am easily getting the sleep I need.

I have bouts of insomnia that can span two to three weeks in length. They typically coincide with the change of the seasons and the clocks. I’m in the middle of one now.

In typical form I spend these hours reading about historical figures who have struggled with sleeplessness: Shakespeare, Biblical writers and Sylvia Plath. As the clock reads 2, and then 3 and finally 4 I have good company.

This season shall pass as it always has before. That is, until Spring. Should it happen again tonight I can spend the evening with Marcel Proust, who struggled mightily with insomnia.

The goal is to live mightily until then.

Leave a Reply

