Painting the Things I *Can* Change

I am good at some things. There are a handful of things that I am terrible at and know nothing about (math, small engine repair, tax laws). And then there’s another category – that category of things I know about but in practice just can’t help myself. When giving other people advice it’s really wise counsel. But when it’s *me* that’s in an emotionally tough spot I know better and act as if I don’t.

I’ve made a lot of progress over the past few years but I still have work to do.

I need to get better at letting things alone and being more OK with uncertainty.

There are just some things I can’t control, nor do I want to when I’m honest. No one wants to control anything or anyone. Ideally we live our lives openly and honestly and entering situations with no attachment to outcome.

So while I’m busy practicing non-attachment I can get some things done around the house that ARE within my control.

My foyer has been off white for the nine years I have lived here. I went to Lowe’s and got some VOC-free paint to finally change that.

I am much more in touch with my inner Rosie the Riveter than my inner Buddha, as you can see:

image

I’m working on it.
Being kind to myself, making my surroundings more beautiful and changing myself by changing only the things I can seems like a good place to start.

I’m always open to advice. Life is long and there is so much to learn.

Leave a Reply

