Beach Baby

Finitude is not something I like to think about.

Like most people I like to live as though time will go on endlessly.

I was having coffee with one of my closest friends yesterday. He and I were talking about exit strategies. Whether in work or personal relationships we are now at an age that the way we finish things matters as much as how we start them. Like it or not, it isn’t good for us to end things as recklessly and messily as we did 10 years ago. Where it was once important to guard our egos above all else, being people of integrity is our task now.

Which brings me to why, this time tomorrow, I’ll be getting in the car with my dog Maddie and a beach towel.

As much as I would like to pretend that she will live forever that simply isn’t the case. My own time has more and more demands on it. This may be our last Spring together. I hope not, of course, but it may be.

So while there is a window of opportunity I’m going to do what I do and jump out of it.

Before the day, week, month and then summer gets away from me, tomorrow we’ll do what Maddies & Sarahs have done best for over a decade now: we will take a road trip (I’ll drive; she’ll snore). And like so many days just like it before, I will smile & think to myself as we are on the way home, “What a perfect day that was.”

Leave a Reply

