Back to the graduate student life.

In August I decided that I would return to graduate school full-time. Somehow, I blinked and it is November. In two weeks this first semester in my program will be over. In the next 12 days I have three tests and a paper to get done on top of everything else that I have to do at the place that I am a chaplain nearly every day, and you know… all of the things that keep my life running (finding loans for next semester. going to the dry cleaners, scheduling my dentist appointment, buying baby shower gifts, wondering when I last washed my jeans). But – I chose this and I am glad that I did. I am getting my Master of Arts in mental health counseling and have decided to specialize in marriage and family counseling as well as substance abuse. I am also getting certified as a Pastoral Counselor in my state so I can assess fees for that in 2016. So much is going on, but I am happier at this particular point in time than I have been in a very, very long time.

I’m happy but very overwhelmed — I have read and re-read the same paragraph no less than three times, which is a good sign I need to take a break. I have a little post-it on my laptop that says “November 14: Bed and Breakfast,” which is to remind me that when this next stressful period is over I will reward myself by going to my favorite B&B in Asheville, NC for the weekend.

So I suppose I should get back to it. I promise to update again after the semester is done, very likely as I am soaking in the clawfoot tub in my favorite suite in Asheville.

Leave a Reply

